TL;DR
Get business pricing on your home office setup
- Business-only prices and quantity discounts
- Tax-exempt purchasing
- Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
Apple’s HomeView is offered in tabletop and wall-mounted models, both priced at $299, but they are not interchangeable after purchase. The tabletop version adds a speaker base and simple plug-in setup; wall mounting requires a separate mount, with hardwired options that may require professional installation.
Apple is selling its HomeView smart display in two $299 models—a tabletop version with a speaker base and a wall-mounted version without one—so buyers need to choose their setup before ordering. A CNET report says the two configurations cannot be converted into each other later, and wall mounting may add equipment costs or require a licensed electrician.
Both versions include a 7-inch Liquid Retina display and are designed to act as a central screen for smart-home controls, entertainment and home-security monitoring. CNET reports that both also support face recognition for personalized accounts, along with Messages, FaceTime, Calendar, Reminders, Find My and Siri AI features. The report says the tabletop display is attached to its speaker base; it is not a detachable screen that can later be moved to a separately purchased wall mount.
The tabletop model uses a power adapter and USB-C cable, so it can be placed near an outlet without permanent installation. Its base adds audio hardware, including down-firing woofers, passive radiators and full-range drivers. CNET’s reviewer said the sound was loud and full in a spacious demonstration area. That makes this version the more straightforward choice for renters or buyers who value stronger audio and flexible placement.
The wall-mounted model costs the same but does not include the tabletop speaker base. Apple offers three Schneider Home mount options, according to CNET: a $59.95 USB-C mount that needs a separate 20-watt adapter; a $79.95 hardwired AC mount, rated to provide 30 watts through a single-gang wall box; and a $129.95 Power over Ethernet mount that carries both power and a wired network connection. The report says Apple recommends a licensed electrician for the hardwired AC option.
Choosing Between Sound and Wall Mounting
The decision affects more than where the screen sits. Since both models cost $299 and cannot be swapped by adding the other configuration’s base or mount later, buyers are choosing between a plug-in display with stronger sound and a dedicated wall dashboard. The separate mount prices also mean the wall-mounted setup can cost more than the advertised device price.
For renters, the tabletop model avoids a permanent installation and is easier to relocate. Homeowners who want a fixed control panel may prefer a flush AC mount or an always-wired network connection, but those choices bring installation and compatibility considerations. Buyers should check their existing wiring, power adapter and network equipment before selecting a mount.
Three Mounts, Different Requirements
CNET’s report describes the USB-C mount as the simplest wall option: it attaches to the display and connects to a nearby outlet, but leaves a visible cable. Buyers who do not already own a 20-watt power adapter must account for that additional item. The report says it may suit renters willing to drill small holes or homeowners who accept the visible cord.
The AC Wired mount is intended to sit flush and connect through a single-gang wall box. The PoE Wired mount requires an Ethernet run and a compatible Power over Ethernet switch; in exchange, it provides wired internet as well as power, without relying on Wi-Fi. Licensed master electrician Michael Malfettone told CNET the PoE option is most suitable for homes that already have Ethernet wiring or are being remodeled. He described AC wiring as a cleaner fit for many homeowners, while noting that the USB-C option is easier if a visible cable is acceptable.
“For most homeowners, I’d go with the AC Wired mount.”
— Michael Malfettone, owner of Malfettone Electric and licensed master electrician, quoted by CNET
Costs and Service Details Still Pending
The source does not specify the year for the stated Nov. 13 release, and it does not provide a full final cost for each installed configuration. The USB-C mount requires a separate adapter if the buyer does not already have one; the total cost of electrician labor for hardwired installation is not given.
CNET also said it had not received details from Apple about the ADT installation service listed with the PoE option, including whether it is an Apple partnership or a service customers can book directly through ADT. The report does not establish that every mount or service is available in every location. Buyers should confirm availability, installation terms and any additional fees before ordering.
Check Your Setup Before Ordering
Before purchasing, decide whether the display will sit on a surface or be permanently wall-mounted, then check the needed power and network connections. Buyers considering the AC Wired mount should consult a licensed electrician about installation and local requirements; those considering PoE should confirm that their network switch and Ethernet run support the setup. The source says HomeView is due for release on Nov. 13, but gives no year. Further details on ADT service and installation costs remain unconfirmed in the report.
Key Questions
Do both HomeView models cost $299?
Yes. The CNET report lists both the tabletop and wall-mounted models at $299. Wall-mount hardware is an additional cost.
Can I turn the tabletop model into a wall-mounted model later?
No. According to the report, the tabletop screen is attached to its speaker base, and Apple does not sell the two versions as interchangeable configurations you can convert after purchase.
Which HomeView model is better for renters?
The tabletop model is easier to set up and move because it plugs into a nearby outlet and does not require permanent installation. A USB-C wall mount is another possibility, but it requires mounting and leaves a visible cable.
Does the wall-mounted HomeView include a separate speaker base?
No. The wall-mounted version does not include the tabletop speaker base, so buyers should not expect the same additional audio hardware.
How much does it cost to have a wall mount installed?
The report lists mount prices of $59.95, $79.95 and $129.95, but does not state electrician labor costs. Apple recommends a licensed electrician for the hardwired AC mount; check with a local professional for an installation estimate.
Source: rss
Halloween Picks
halloween
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
