TL;DR
Get business pricing on your home office setup
- Business-only prices and quantity discounts
- Tax-exempt purchasing
- Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
A project published on sael.net presents interactive, step-by-step 3D builds for IKEA’s BILLY bookcase and LACK side table, based on their assembly manuals. The creator says the parts, hardware counts and assembly order follow the manuals, while some dimensions are estimated from drawings; IKEA is not identified as the project’s maker or endorser.
Sael.net has published an interactive 3D assembly guide for IKEA’s BILLY bookcase and LACK side table, recreating the products’ manual steps as animated builds. The project provides a way to follow the parts and hardware in three dimensions, but its creator says some measurements are estimates and states that the work is not made or endorsed by IKEA.
The BILLY guide follows IKEA assembly manual AA-1823127-9 for a bookcase measuring 80 × 28 × 202 centimeters. Sael.net says the 3D build uses the same parts, hardware counts and assembly order as the manual, with views arranged to resemble its drawings. Users can advance with arrows or a timeline, play a step, and open the original manual alongside the 3D model.
The listed BILLY build includes two side panels, top and bottom panels, a fixed middle shelf, a plinth, four adjustable shelves and a back panel folded into three sections. The guide tracks 82 hardware pieces: dowels, cam screws and locks, nails, shelf pins, and wall brackets with screws and washers. It also labels parts and can display the assembly in the manual’s black-line drawing style.
A second option recreates the LACK side table, measuring 55 × 55 × 45 centimeters, from manual AA-2606170-1. Its build uses four double-ended screws and four legs. Sael.net says the manual ends after the legs are attached, while the 3D guide adds a third step showing the table being turned over.
A New Way to Follow IKEA Instructions
The project addresses a familiar challenge in flat-pack assembly: translating small printed diagrams into the position and orientation of real panels and fittings. By letting users move through steps, inspect a part, and compare the animation with the manual, the guide may help clarify how pieces fit together—particularly how the BILLY’s cam-lock fasteners pull panels together.
That added visual layer is not a substitute for the manufacturer’s safety directions. The source emphasizes that the animation moves faster than a real build and that the manual calls for two people when lifting or turning the full bookcase. It also repeats the manual’s instruction to secure the BILLY to a wall, since a tip-over can cause fatal injury. Users still need suitable wall screws and plugs, which are not supplied because the correct fixings depend on the wall.
Manuals Behind the 3D Builds
The BILLY reconstruction is based on IKEA manual AA-1823127-9, and the LACK version on AA-2606170-1. Sael.net says the BILLY manual is reproduced unaltered and identifies IKEA’s official site as the place to find the original. The source also states that the manual is copyrighted by Inter IKEA Systems B.V. and that IKEA and BILLY are its trademarks.
The guide explains the BILLY’s cam-lock connection: a cam screw sits in one panel, its head enters a round cam in another, and turning the cam draws the two panels tight. Dowels align parts, while the cams provide the clamping force. The nailed back panel helps keep the assembled case square. These explanations accompany the animated sequence rather than changing the manual’s instructions.
Sael.net distinguishes between information taken directly from the manuals and dimensions inferred for the model. It says parts, counts, assembly order and hardware numbers come from the manuals, but panel thickness, hole positions and shelf heights are read from drawings and are therefore close estimates, not measured specifications. The published overall BILLY dimensions are given as 80 × 28 × 202 centimeters.
“The 3D build follows it step by step: the same parts, the same hardware counts, in the same order.”
— Sael.net, describing the BILLY reconstruction
Estimated Measurements and Safety Limits
The supplied report does not state when the guide was published, how many people have used it, or whether IKEA has commented on the project. It also does not provide independent testing of the 3D models. According to sael.net, some construction details—such as hole positions and panel thickness—are approximated from manual illustrations rather than measured from the furniture.
That distinction matters if a user treats the animation as a precise technical drawing. The source presents the guide as a visual companion to the manuals, not as an IKEA-approved replacement. It does not say that the model accounts for every variation in product batches, wall types or assembly conditions. The appropriate wall fixings for the BILLY are not specified because they depend on the user’s wall.
Use the Manual Alongside the Model
Readers can open the interactive build on sael.net and compare its steps with the relevant IKEA manual. The guide includes controls to move between steps, play the sequence, switch views and inspect labeled parts. Sael.net also lists keyboard controls for navigation, playback and camera movement.
For assembly, the manufacturer’s manual remains the reference for safety and installation. The source says two people are needed for steps involving lifting or turning the complete BILLY, and the bookcase should be fixed to the wall with suitable hardware. No further development or IKEA response is reported in the supplied material.
Key Questions
What does the IKEA 3D guide cover?
It shows interactive assembly steps for the BILLY bookcase and LACK side table, based on their IKEA manuals.
Is the 3D guide an official IKEA product?
No. Sael.net states that the project is not made or endorsed by IKEA. The source identifies IKEA and BILLY as trademarks of Inter IKEA Systems B.V.
Are all measurements in the BILLY model exact?
No. Sael.net says the parts, counts, order and hardware numbers follow the manual, but panel thickness, hole positions and shelf heights are estimated from drawings, not measured.
Does the guide replace the IKEA assembly manual?
The project is presented as a visual companion. Sael.net provides access to the manual alongside the build; users should follow the manufacturer’s instructions, including its safety guidance.
What safety warning does the source give for BILLY?
Sael.net repeats the manual’s warning to secure the bookcase to the wall. It says the manual calls for two people when lifting or turning the full case; appropriate wall screws and plugs depend on the wall and are not included.
Source: hn
Halloween Picks
halloween
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
